Yours in Song

The beginning of the school year is always so exciting at Purdue! There are so many fun pettesevents going on around campus– from club call outs to Zumba classes and Greek life recruitment to football games. I’m currently a junior at Purdue studying Hospitality and Tourism Management and I LOVE it! I’m so excited to be a Health and Human Sciences Student Ambassador this year. I love to share my story as a Boilermaker with students and alumni. I have been given so many amazing opportunities as an Ambassador for the College of HHS already, but I also have another ambassador title I uphold as a Purdue student; I’m a musical ambassador!

purduettes I’m a member of the Purduettes, a women’s singing ensemble at Purdue. We celebrate all different genres of music and entertain audiences of all ages while maintaining a polished and professional style. We are not only known for our quality performances, but we’re known for our excellence on and off stage. There are over 50 girls in the group and not one of them is majoring in music! That’s right—did you know Purdue doesn’t have a music school? At most colleges, vocalists aren’t given the opportunity to continue performing on stage unless you’re majoring in music. With Purdue Musical Organizations, I can continue singing throughout my college career. Purduettes has given me so many travel opportunities, scholarship opportunities, opportunities to network and meet with other Purdue alumni, and opportunities to practice professionalism and polish to prepare for my future career. Through Purduettes, I have also found my best friends at Purdue, which made the transition into college and my move to West Lafayette so much easier.

We recently had our first performance of the year on campus! Earlier in September, we took the stage on Slayter Hill and performed a free show called “Picnic with the Purduettes”. We always have so much fun entertaining our fellow Boilermakers when we can around campus! We hope to see you at a show sometime (or if you’re a singer, check out purdue.edu/pmo for more information on how you can be a part of this amazing organization!)

—  Ellie Boyer, Junior, Hospitality and Tourism Management

This entry was posted in Hospitality and Tourism Management and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

