Purdue Cru Trip to Wyoming

Hello everyone! My name is Claire Albert and I am a junior studying athletic training at Purdue. IFishingt’s crazy to think it is already October! Life on campus is definitely a change of pace compared to my summer spent in Wyoming.

I had the opportunity to live and work in one of the most beautiful places on earth, Yellowstone National Park! I’ve always dreamed of visiting out West but never dreamed I would spend 11 weeks working in the Old Faithful Inn, fishing on the Fire Hole River, watching bison graze right outside my door and exploring the United States’ first Horseback Ridingnational park. I traveled out West to meet 22 other college students from around the country in May. We are all involved in a Christian campus ministry at different universities called, Cru. I got involved with Purdue Cru my freshman year after meeting Cru students at a club fair during BGR. Purdue Cru has many opportunities to get involved on campus, go on summer projects all over the United States and even international projects.

My favorite weekend trip I took this summer was to Cody, Wyoming to see the “Xtreme Bulls” bull riding competition. As an avid rodeo fan myself, the event was so exciting because Cody, Wyoming is known as the “Rodeo Capital of the World.” One of my future career goals is to cover rodeo events as an athletic trainer. When I watch rodeos, I like to run through scenarios in my head of what I would do if a cowboy or cowgirl gets injured. After watching a lot of bull riding, going horseback riding and exploring Cody, we camped at the most beautiful spot in Shoshone National Forest outside of Yellowstone. Although I miss being out West, I’m excited to be a part of the Athletic Training Education Program at Purdue and complete my clinical experiences with Purdue Wrestling this semester.

— Claire Albert, Junior, Athletic Training

This entry was posted in Health and Kinesiology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

