Eventful October Break from Purdue

This October break proved to be very eventful! My boyfriend Derek of 18 months asked me to be his wife!engagement 1 I flew down to San Antonio where Derek is for army training to visit for the weekend. That Monday, our plan was to go to the Japanese tea gardens which we had visited before with my sister and her husband who also live in San Antonio. Right before we were going to go, he had to take a phone call and told me that the army had called him in for a briefing, which could take a while, so I should go on without him. Feeling frustrated, I went on ahead. The gardens are gorgeous with waterfalls, koi ponds, pagodas and colorful flowers. RingI kept thinking to myself that the flowers were even brighter than last time. He texted me from the meeting saying how much he wanted it to be finished, when I turned around and he was right behind me. He had a huge smile on his face and a small box in his hand…you know what that means. Then he got on one knee and asked me to marry him. Surprised and thrilled, I said, “yes!” Tourists around us cheered as my sister and brother-in-law snapped pictures. Derek’s good friend from the army was also in the distance taking pictures. Coming back to school, I’m basking in the realization that this really happened and looking forward to our wedding this summer!

— Laura Mangan, Senior, Nursing

This entry was posted in Nursing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

