Thanksgiving Break

November is a great month because that means it’s time for Thanksgiving and it’s getting closer to Christmas! These are two of my favorite holiday’s to spend with my family, because they make great food! I know everyone probably says this about his or her grandma, but my grandma makes the BEST food. One of my favorite feelings is waking up in the morning and getting dressed up to go over to my grandma’s. I walk into her house and I smell all of the delicious aromas of what she is cooking in the kitchen. I don’t even know where to start on what my favorite Thanksgiving entrée is, but I definitely would have to settle with my grandma’s famous sweet potatoes topped with marshmallows and pineapples. My other favorite dish would have to be turkey and cranberries together. It may sound strange to some, but it’s delicious!

For me, I love tradition and that’s one reason why I chose to come to Purdue. When I was younger, it was always a annual tradition for me to stay the night at my grandma’s house on Thanksgiving night while my mom went out Black Friday shopping. My Grandma and I would always make ice cream sundaes and watch movies until we fell asleep on the couch. Now that I’m older and found a love for shopping, I venture out with my mom at 2 A.M. to go Black Friday shopping and start buying Christmas gifts. Although I have taken on this new tradition with my mom, I will always love the memories of staying the night on Thanksgiving night at my grandma’s. Thanksgiving is always a great time to see my family, eat delectable food, and enjoy the time I have at home with my family.

— Kamri Nixon, Sophomore, Dietetics

This entry was posted in Ambassadors and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

